JIDA Museum Selection vol.20


Product ユニバーサルデザインシート
Universal Design Seat
Model number
Manufacturer 株式会社 日立製作所
Hitachi, Ltd.
Designer 川上デザインルーム 川上 元美
+ 株式会社日立製作所 川口 裕太
+ KAWAGUCHI Yuta, Hitachi, Ltd.
Pioneer spirit
Social performance
Technology innovation
生活領域/Living areas
事業領域/Business areas
公共領域/Public areas

従来の鉄道車両用シートよりも高く、浅く腰掛ける形状とすることで、座る、立つという動作による身体的負担が軽減され、電車をスムーズに利用することができるようになるシート。試作を繰り返し、ユーザーの声を聞きながら検討したことで、動作のしやすさと快適な座り心地の両立を実現。駅に停車している限られた時間の中でも、パッと座れてサッと立てるため、高齢者でもストレスなく安全でスムーズな乗降ができるようになり、事故や遅延のリスクが減る。さらに、座ると自然に背筋が伸び足の投げ出しが抑制されること、足下に荷物を納められることから、立ち客空間も広くなる。座る人、立つ人、鉄道事業者、それぞれにとって嬉しいシート。(解説/川口 裕太)2017年12月発売 オープン価格


この通勤電車向けシートは従来よりも高く、浅く腰掛ける形状で、使いやすさを追求し、更に気品がありユニバーサルデザインの好例といえる。「シルバーシート」は1973年9月15日の「敬老の日」に初めて設置された。現在の利用状況はモラルの問題により、決して必要とする人が利用できていない。一見して、ユニバーサルデザイン化されていることが解るこのシートの導入により、本当に必要としている人の利用が期待できる。(選定委員/北村 光彦)


This train seat is exclusively designed to reduce unnecessary physical strain for passengers, allowing them to sit and stand for accessing train smoothly by having less seat depth and higher seat height. During the prototyping, the seat was repeatedly and carefully modified along with user feedback to achieve both an allowance for easy movement and comfortable seating. This design also minimizes risk of accident, making the seat especially good for elderly people. By naturally making passengers sit up straight without swinging their legs, space under the seat becomes available for personal belongings. (Description / KAWAGUCHI Yuta) Launch Year / 2017


This seat for commuting trains performs higher than conventional ones by minimizing the seat depth. The designers have pursued usability without forsaking elegance, making it a good example of “universal design.” These “silver seats” were first installed on the Respect-for-the-Aged Day (a Japanese holiday) on September 15, 1973. Currently, the silver seats are not necessarily used by those they are intended for, but by introducing this train seat for universal use, it can be expected to be used by people who really need to. (Selection Committee / KITAMURA Mitsuhiko)